Using scripts to market your services effectively

I draft a script for every one of my regular categories of marketing and sales interactions: phone calls, emails, even notes on a postcard! It has been a huge boost to my efforts. Why?

  • The process of drafting and revising the script before sending it out in the world helps me internalize my message. I’m getting practice telling others what I do by telling myself in private first.
  • It reduces the number of decisions I have to make when I actually sit down to do sales and marketing tasks, which makes it less daunting overall. I have the basic structure and delivery method for my communications in front of me like an instruction manual: Just follow steps 1-2-3 to contact people A, B, and C.
  • It helps me maintain consistency across my communications. This is important for my reputation as a reliable professional, and it reduces potential confusion about what services I actually offer to clients.
  • It gives me more confidence when talking on the phone. As a translator, I’m used to having lots of time to think about what I want to say and how. Phone calls are a whole ‘nother ball game. Having a general outline of what information I mean to convey gives me something to focus on when giving on-the-spot responses to unscripted questions.

Now, I’m not saying you should send exactly the same note to every person or have exactly the same phone call with each person you contact. Personalization is important—you don’t want to come off as a robot, or someone who didn’t do their homework on a specific contact’s background. The scripts just give you more time to be more personal (or personable). Give it a try!

Have you used scripts to help with your own sales and marketing? What sort of texts to you draft ahead of time? Has it helped?

2 thoughts on “Using scripts to market your services effectively

  1. Pingback: Using scripts to market your services effective...

  2. Pingback: Weekly favorites (Feb 14-20) | Lingua Greca Translations

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!