On reading for pleasure

I have always loved escaping into a piece of fiction. It really helps me shake off the demands of the week and slip into weekend relaxation mode. A couple times a year, I even pull an all-nighter (something I never, ever do for work) to finish a book from cover to cover—just for the joy of it.

This month, we’re going to relax with some good books (just in time for summer vacations!). I’ve already talked about these:

And Virginie of Moustache Books recommended a number of great French reads in this interview.

What’s on your summer reading list? Recommend your own favorites below!

10 thoughts on “On reading for pleasure

  1. You’re not the only one to have pulled an all-nighter just to finish a book. I’ve done that quite a few times myself.

    Now, I’m not sure what would qualify as ‘summer reading’, as I guess it differs from one person to another, but here are some of my favourite books (some are from the horror/thriller genre, which I fell in love with not long ago).

    Blindness by José Saramago; if you’d rather read it in its original Portuguese, it’s called Ensaio sobre a cegueira (Essay on blindness)

    Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins (recommended by Catherine Christaki)

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson; if you prefer the Swedish version, the original title is Män som hatar kvinnor (Men who hate women)

    Broken Dolls by James Carol

    The Road by Cormac McCarthy

    The Gingerbread Man by Maggie Shayne

    Hideaway by Dean Koontz

    Misery by Stephen King

      • It is… I did say some are quite dark 🙂 That book really kept me up all night.

        There are lots of other books I loved, but I suppose most people have already read them, so I did not include them – John Steinbeck’s ‘Of Mice and Men’, John Fowles’ ‘The Collector’, George Orwell’s ‘1984’, Harper Lee’s ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’…

  2. Hey Carolyn, thanks for your recommendations! Here are a few, “unputdownable” gems that I read (some of them over and over):
    Fiction –
    ‘Dandelion Wine’ by Ray Bradbury
    ‘People of the Book’ by Geraldine Brooks
    ‘If on a winter’s night a traveler’ by Italo Calvino
    ‘Kabbalah: A Love Story’ by Rabbi Lawrence Kushner
    ‘Ishmael’ by Daniel Quinn
    Non-fiction –
    ‘When They Severed Earth from Sky’ by Barber & Barber
    ‘The Seven Daughters of Eve’ by Bryan Sykes

    • What great recommendations, Ildiko! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I love Dandelion Wine… Bradbury is just great. You might like Kurt Vonnegut, too. He’s very playful with words, but there’s still substance to his writing.

  3. My pleasure, and thank you for your great blog and for all that you do for our community. 🙂 I have several bookcases and I admit that I have three shelves on these that are each dedicated to one single writer (would that make me a collector? or just obsessed? ;)) These are: Bradbury (my ultimate favorite, a master of words), Brautigan, and Vonnegut. A fourth, madly talented and hugely underrated author (writer, poet and musician), Boris Vian ‘should’ have his own shelf, just for this one:
    ‘L’Écume des Jours’ (1947) and its outstanding translations:
    English: ‘Froth on the Daydream’ & ‘Foam of the Daze’
    Hungarian: ‘Tajtékos napok’
    And if you are like me, nuts about reading the same masterpieces in various languages, don’t miss ‘Kazohinia’ by Sándor Szathmáry, and ‘The Cyberiad’ or ‘Kiberiáda’ by Stanislaw Lem!

  4. Pingback: 2014 summer reading suggestions | translation, untangled

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!

