What’s your opinion of Google’s Nexus 7?

My current laptop is 7 years old, a bit wheezy, and kinda clunky for quick email checks while out of the office. For the new year, I’ve been considering getting a tablet computer. They’re lighter, smaller, and seem just as capable as a laptop at keeping me in touch with my clients while I’m running errands.

Google Winter Wonderlab

Lucky for me, Google has a Winter Wonderlab set up the next town over, right where I host my translator coffee chats. So, last week, after our time was up, I strolled on down to get a closer look at the Nexus 7. Maybe you’ve heard of it? This is Google’s own, Android-based tablet computer. It works just like a smartphone, except you can choose to use it with Wifi only—and thus avoid paying for a monthly data plan.

The direct connection to my email account, Google Drive, and Hangout is the most attractive feature to me as a businessperson. Typing on tablets and touch screens drives me nuts, so I’d be thrilled to skip login screens. One quick tap and I can see my emails? Yes, please! That would have come in major handy at the ATA conference, not to mention all the in-person events I’ve got planned for the coming year.

Google Nexus 7 tablet

I spent a good half hour playing around with this tablet at the mall. It’s pretty easy to navigate and has a lot of useful business features, including a word processing app compatible with Word. Two taps and you’re reading email, looking up directions, or video chatting with a client. It’s solid enough that I wouldn’t worry about breaking it in my conference bag. (In fact, the guy that helped me said it was designed with dudes in mind—just the right size for throwing in your back pocket, and sturdy enough to withstand you forgetting it’s there when you sit down.) What’s not to like?

I was a total skeptic going in to the Wonderlab, and now I’m fairly certain I’m going to buy the Nexus 7. But first, what do you think? If you own one already, how does it work for you? If you’re a tablet user, how has it helped you?

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!

