Happy anniversary! {with giveaway}

balloons

Well, hello there! I’m so glad you stopped by. It’s a very special day here. Exactly one year ago today, I published my first post on this blog. It’s been quite exciting getting my thoughts together for you every week—an exercise in discipline, and a battle against shyness that has been well worth the effort.

These are some of the most-read posts from the past year, in case you missed them:

They were a lot of fun to put together for you! And as a thank-you for sticking with me, a “party favor” if you will, I’m raffling off a gift to two (2) lucky winners to be chosen at random.

Fatelessness, by Imre Kertész and translated by Tim Wilkinson

You can take your pick if you win: a copy of Fatelessness (which I discuss here), written by Imre Kertész and translated by Tim Wilkinson; or a copy of The Story of French, by Jean-Benoît Nadeau and Julie Barlow. If for some reason you win and already own a copy of both of these books (like I do), then we’ll figure something else out. I’ll ship your book to anywhere in the world, so don’t be shy!

The Story of French, by Jean-Benoît Nadeau and Julie BarlowThere are three ways to enter the contest:

  1. Leave a comment below with a link to your favorite post from my blog, or with a topic you’d like me to cover in a future post.
  2. Like my company page over on Facebook, or leave a comment if you already like it.
  3. Link to this post on Twitter (be sure to include me in the Tweet! @untngldtransl8n).

You can enter once in each of the three ways to increase your chances of winning (so, 3 entries total per person). The contest is officially open from 9:00am today (August 29) through midnight next Wednesday (September 4). I’ll pick the winners at random, notify them in private, and post the results on Thursday, September 5.

Good luck, and thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Happy anniversary! {with giveaway}

  1. Congratulations! Since you’re a fellow language lover, I’ll say it in a few languages: Поздравляю! [Russian] Вітаю! [Ukrainian, not 100% sure that’s right because my Ukrainian is very poor!] Veels geluk! [Afrikaans]

    As for future posts, I’d love to see more about Hungarian, either the language or the culture of Hungary. I’m really interested in history, so maybe something concerning modern Hungarians’ views of the revolution in 1956? You probably know way more Hungarian people than the average American and I’d love to know Hungarians’ view on their own history. 🙂

  2. Congrats, Carolyn! A fantastic blog. I enjoy every one of your entries tremendously. Keep up the good work!
    By the way, could you include a bit more on French literature and the sorts of books you like/read? I am just curious.
    Carlos

  3. Wow, congratulations, Carolyn! And thank you for teaching us so many cool facts about Hungarian, a language I had absolutely no idea about!

    An idea for future blog posts: the difficulties you faced when you started out as a freelance translator, if there was any ? It would be a great pick-me-up for newbies!

  4. Pingback: Vive la rentrée! | translation, untangled

  5. Pingback: Giveaway winners announced | translation, untangled

  6. Pingback: Major changes coming soon | translation, untangled

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!

