Hello, again!

Well, I officially made it through 6 days of mostly interpreting at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival—it was hot, sweaty work outdoors on the National Mall, but someone had to do it! They mainly had me in my worst nightmare situation: microphone in hand, on stage in front of a staring crowd. But you know what? It’s easy to hide behind the conversation you’re just interpreting. And we were doing cooking demonstrations, so I was in my element most of the time. What a fun way to spend the week leading up to my birthday!

I’m still getting back into the swing of things here at the home office. I’m a couple weeks behind on a Coursera class, for one thing. I’ve been appointed the new Web Manager in addition to my duties as Secretary on the board of the local translators association. And did I mention the Fulbright grant application I’m developing? Not to mention routine business and following up with all the lovely people I’ve met recently…

With all that in mind, please enjoy these links to other articles and blog posts published during my absence. I’ll be back later this week with some more substantial thoughts, I promise.

Famous authors who practice self-translation, by Catherine Cellier-Smart

How translators define themselves in the profession (or let others take over), by Louis Vorstermans

The three types of translators and how they fit into the scheme of things, by Steve Vitek

Numbers for freelancers to watch, by Walt Kania

Quelques pistes pour bien négocier, by Gaëlle Gagné

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!

