Coursera for translators

Corinne McKay mentioned this week that she’s trying out Coursera to learn more about the topic she translates most often, public health. I’d heard about this platform before, but somehow this was the push I needed to investigate further.

After about five minutes of browsing their offerings, I signed up for Property and Liability: An Introduction to Law and Economics. What a perfect fit for my specializations! I have a stronger background in social science pattern-finding than in strictly legal issues, so I expect this course to help me bring it all together.

A few other listings that jumped out as potentially useful for translators were:

What are your thoughts on online learning? How do you build your subject matter expertise?

4 thoughts on “Coursera for translators

  1. That sounds like a cool course, Carolyn. I’m interested in economics and law is something I don’t know much about, so I’ll have to check it out. I’m in the intro to finance course right now and it is amazing. The professor is really nice and really, really good at teaching. I actually understand the formula used for calculating compound interest instead of just knowing it by heart and plugging in numbers like I did before.

  2. Hi, Natalie! I had considered the finance course too, but decided I needed a little more time before I got back into coursework. Glad to hear it’s a good one, will keep it in mind!

  3. Pingback: Property and Liability Coursera class update | translation, untangled

  4. Pingback: How do you know when you’re ready to tackle more specialized translation tasks? | translation, untangled

What are your thoughts? Let's hear them!

